top of page

A New Blog

It has been a while since I've blogged after spending almost four years blogging about my daughter learning to read. It was a lot of work maintaining that blog from the time she was about 6 months old until she was reading really well at five years old. I'm looking forward to writing about the reading process again, because that is what I'll focus on, even though I plan to write about other educational topics as well.

I must give you an update on Ella. She is now a little over two months into her 2nd grade year and continues to amaze me. Her reading improves consistently, keeping her well above grade level. I was surprised at her teacher conference last week to learn that her Lexile score improved from 551 at the end of last year to 718 this year. Normally kids can be expected to drop a bit or only show small gains over the summer. But a gain of 167 points is very good. All we did over the summer is make Ella read and ensured that at least some of those books were challenging for her.

If you haven't read my previous blog, I highly recommend it, especially if you have a young one ready to learn to read. Go to https://teachingellatoread.wordpress.com!

As I said, I look forward to continuing this blog. There are many things to write about when it comes to the education of children!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page